Community Centre Jesselton (Kota Kinabalu Community Centre)

© David Ayres, Community Centre Jesselton, Kota Kinabalu, 5 October 1967, (link)

The idea to build a community centre in Kota Kinabalu, then Jesselton originated from the Committee of the Management of Japanese Assets in 1953. A sum of $67,000 was approved for the construction. A competition among architects for the best design was held. Its closing date was the 30th January 1954. Billings Leong won the competition with the prize money of $500.00. The design of the building was to house basically a basketball court, which is convertible to 3 badminton courts and to have a seating capacity of 800.

In 1955, Billings Leong was appointed by the then Jesselton Town Board to take over the design of the community centre. Billings Leong sought the advice of Standard Steel Pty. Ltd. in Melbourne, Australia on the possible use of steel trusses for the construction. The distinctiveness of the design was the pin based gable frame with a 15 degree pitch.

The steel fabricated framework was sourced from Melbourne, Australia. Tender for the project was signed on the 20th September 1957. The contract to build the community centre was won by China Construction (Borneo) Ltd. The Contract sum was $225,950.00. The contract was signed on the 30th September 1957. Four and a half months was stipulated for the completion of the building beginning from 11th October 1957.

The final sum for the Community Centre, which included among others, a water tank, electrical installation of fans and fittings was $280,730.16. The contribution of $67,000 by the Committee of Japanese Assets was paid directly to the contractor China Construction (Borneo) Ltd.

In March 1958, the Community Centre was officially opened by the Governor Sir Roland Turnbull.

  • Developer
  • Jesselton Town Board
  • Year Of Completion
  • 1958
  • Project Cost
  • 280,730.16
  • Land Area
  • 0.57 acres
  • Programme
  • Community Hall


  • 66 Memorial Gallery
  • Grace Point 66 Memorial Park
  • KK Times Square
  • Sipadan Mabul Diving Resort
  • Tanjung Aru Plaza
  • University Condo Apartments
  • Cyber-City Apartments Phase 2
  • Country Heights
  • Melinsung Summer Bay Resort Apartments
  • Nirwarna Funeral Parlour
  • SGM Sabah Cultural Centre
  • Prison Department Housing
  • Kudat Division Police Complex


  • Sutera Harbour Resort
  • Nexus Karambunai Resort
  • Alamesra Eco-Cyber Township
  • Kinabalu Pine Resort
  • Beringgis Beach Resort (Papar)
  • City Parade Shopping Complex
  • Likas Square Business Suites
  • Graceville Apartments
  • Beverly Hills Apartments Phase 1 to 5
  • Beverly Hills Industrial Park
  • Kingfisher Park Housing & Commercial
  • Pasir Putih Housing Phase 1 & 2
  • Prison Department Housing
  • Wisma Jubilee
  • Geological Laboratory Sabah
  • SEB Sepangar Bay Power Station
  • Public Bank Branches (Penampang/Keningau)
  • Likas Court Apartments
  • City Heights
  • Taman Hilton Housing
  • Ranau Chinese Temple
  • Temple for Moral Uplifting Society
  • New World Commercial Centre
  • KFC Outlets (Karamunsing/Wisma Merdeka/Centre Point)
  • Burger King Outlets (Segama/Damai)


  • Tanjung Aru / Sembulan Urban Renewal Scheme
  • Chung Hwa Primary School Likas
  • Malaysia Borneo Finance (MBF) Corp. Offices
  • Lucky Heights Condominium
  • Clubhouse for Faber Union
  • Taman Nelly Housing
  • Taman Sri Keningau Housing
  • Tuaran New Market
  • YHC Commercial & Residential
  • Superwood Wood Processing and Kiln Dry Complex (Tuaran)
  • Oceanic Exchange Building (Labuan)
  • Kian Yap Housing Phase 1 to 4 (Labuan)
  • Tan Villa Housing Estate Phase 1 to 2 (Labuan)
  • Beaufort Jaya Commercial
  • SEDCO Light Industrial Estate (Tawau)
  • Tenghilan Multi-Purpose Hall
  • Taman Desadamai Housing (Bintulu)


  • Hock Hua Bank
  • Lok Yuk School & Teachers’ Quarters
  • Marina Hotel Labuan


  • All Saints Christ Church
  • Nosmal Court
  • Empire Theatre (Tuaran)
  • Victory Theatre (Labuan)
  • Tawau Hotel
  • Empress Hotel (Tawau)
  • Kong Fah Theatre (Tawau)
  • Emperor Theatre (Tawau)
  • Chung Hwa Primary School KK
  • Sandakan Rural District Council
  • Padas Hotel


  • Community Centre Jesselton
  • Gaya Street Old Town Shophouses
  • Kian Kok Secondary School
  • Kampung Air Shophouses
  • Capitol Cinema
  • Cathay Cinema
  • Bengawan Cinema (Sandakan)
  • Coliseum Theater (Beaufort)
  • Tawau Old Town Shophouses
  • Kudat Old Town Shophouses
  • Beaufort District Office Building
  • Yuk Chin School (Tawau)
  • Lahad Datu Mosque